Posted by: Food Lover | October 4, 2011

Macadamia Nut Chicken Over Spinach Berry Salad


I don’t know about the rest of the world, but up here in the Great White North, when the autumn feels like spring, we force in all the warm weather joy possible. Today, that includes making a delicious summer salad.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. Ewwww… salad. As a dedicated carnivore I often feel the same way. However, in the desperate hope that I’ll always be able to fit into my favorite clothes, I have begun hunting down salads that are actually pleasurable to eat. The “pleasurable to eat” aspect is critical as there’s nothing worse than boring a culinary slut; boredom leads to a wandering itch that must eventually be satiated. In my experience this usually ends in some sort of sinful gluttony of ridiculous sugary, fatty or salty goodness… Sometimes food that isn’t really that good, but being desperate makes cheap and easy suddenly seem glamorous.

So in an attempt to avoid the waves of shame that follow eating a box of Oreos, I have created the following salad decadence:

Macadamia Nut Chicken Over Berry Spinach Salad

Crisp Your Spinach
1. Spinach
Decide on your serving size, this is the bed of the salad. I really like my leafy greens crisp, texture is important when I’ve got a pile of greens in front of me. As such I always start by placing my spinach into a bowl of cold water and throwing a handful of ice on top.If you don’t already have one, you may want to get a salad spinner to remove the water from the greens quickly so they’re ready to be plated.

http://www.bedbathandbeyond.ca/stylePage.asp?RN=4939

The Chicken:
2. 1 Chicken Breast
3. 1/2 cup Panko Flakes or Bread Crumbs
4. 1/2 cup Macadamia Nuts, finely chopped
5. 1 tablespoon dried parsley
6. 1 Egg
7. 1 teaspoon cream (of any kind)
8. 1 cup Flour
9. Salt
10. Pepper

A. Preheat your oven to 440 F.

B. Spread the flour on one plate, then mix in some pepper (freshly ground is always best), and sprinkle on some salt, mixing both into the flour.

C. On a separate plate, mix the panko or break crumbs with the finely copped macadamia nuts and parsley.

D. In a bowl whisk the egg with the teaspoon of cream.

E. First coat your chicken breast in the flour, then coat it in the egg/cream mixture. Finally, coat it in the panko/macadamia mixture. Place in oven for 30 min.

The salad:
11. 1/4 cup blueberries
12. 1/4 dried cranberries
13. 1/4 sliced strawberries
14. 1/4 macadamia nuts or walnuts (optional)
15. Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing (optional)

I hate tossing my salads, they never mix well. Instead I prefer to place it all on the plate. Covering a plate with a single layer of spinach, I then sprinkle on all the berries and nuts. The proportions are really up to you, there’s no wrong or right, just what you love. Once the chicken is ready, slice it up, and place it over the salad.

A Raspberry vinaigrette goes wonderfully with this, though I prefer to leave it on the side and dip the end of my fork into it. Actually, I eat salad with chop sticks much of the time (it’s much easier for me) and dipping them in the dressing also works well.

calories: 405
carbs: 27
fat: 16
protein: 38

Leave a Reply

Categories

