Posted by: Food Lover | November 30, 2009

A Cake of Yeast


Being Polish, I love my bread. I have been wanting to get back into baking recently so I dusted off my 1973 edition of “The Joy Of Cooking”.

Cake of YeastNaturally the first bread listed was White Bread.

I went to several stores, from family owned grocers, to chains, to specialty shops. No where could I find this elusive cake of compressed yeast.

I wrote Fleischmanns and asked where they distribute cake yeast in Canada.

It turns out, they don’t!

Denise of Fleischmanns Consumer Affairs gave me some helpful advice:

Active dry yeast is an excellent substitute for fresh yeast. One small (.6-ounce) cake of fresh yeast is equivalent to one envelope dry yeast. One large (2-ounce) cake is equivalent to three envelopes dry yeast. Dissolve active dry yeast in warm water (100° to 110°F) and proceed with the recipe as directed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

